Request for letter writing re: Tofino & Ucluelet (14 bears killed)

Worst season seen in Tofino and Ucluelet. It's time to put an end to the needless killing of bears there. We need your help!

October 30, 2021

Dear BC Bear Alliance members and supporters:

There is a troubling article posted on the Vancouver Island CTV website (https://vancouverisland.ctvnews.ca/11-bears-killed-in-tofino-ucluelet-after-breaking-into-structures-to-find-garbage-1.5642113)
, as well as the article in the Times Colonist (https://www.timescolonist.com/local-news/its-the-worst-ive-ever-seen-14-bear-deaths-in-tofino-ucluelet-region-4701696).
We hope you are inspired to write a letter to the Mayors and Councils of Tofino and Ucluelet. We have drafted a short letter (below) as a starter for those who wish to use it.

Thank you for considering this request.

Sincerely, Christine Miller and Sylvia Dolson, BCBC co-chairs

TOFINO
Mayor Dan Law: dlaw@tofino.ca
Councillor Al Anderson: anderson@tofino.ca
Councillor Jacky Challenger: challenger@tofino.ca
Councillor Britt Chalmers: chalmers@tofino.ca
Councillor Duncan McMaster: mcmaster@tofino.ca
Councillor Tom Stere: stere@tofino.ca
Councillor Cathy Thicke: thicke@tofino.ca

UCLUELET
Ucluelet Mayor and Council (option to email the group not on website):
Mayor Mayco Noël mnoel@ucluelet.ca
Councillor Rachelle Cole: rcole@ucluelet.ca
Councillor Jennifer Hoar: jhoar@ucluelet.ca
Councillor Lara Kemps: lkemps@ucluelet.ca
Councillor Marilyn McEwen: mmcewen@ucluelet.ca

NOTE: It would also be helpful to email you MLA!

SAMPLE LETTER

Date:

Dear Mayor and Council of [Tofino, Ucluelet OR Tofino and Ucluelet]:

I am [alarmed, shocked, sickened, saddened, disturbed, troubled or whatever captures your reaction] by the article on the Vancouver Island CTV News site “11 bears killed in Tofino, Ucluelet after breaking into structures to find garbage” and that in the Times Colonist “’It’s the worst I’ve ever seen’: 14 bear deaths in Tofino, Ucluelet region”. This news is extremely disturbing to tourists and residents who love your community [OR communities if written to both together] and value the wildlife. Many who travel to [Tofino, Ucluelet OR Tofino and Ucluelet] are conservationists, nature lovers, and photographers who expect BC’s wildlife to be protected with robust education programs and enforced attractant bylaws for residents and visitors.

I trust that you will make the protection of wildlife a high priority for your Council [or Councils]. Many communities have experienced significant success in preventing unnecessary deaths of bears and other wildlife with education programs (often delivered by volunteer community groups) and with enhanced attractant bylaws that are enforced by municipal bylaw staff. We appreciate the education delivered by the WildSafeBC Coordinator. But we all know that education alone is not enough. According to the coordinator, Bob Hansen, “more bylaw enforcement and fines are needed to stem the ‘chronic problems’ of attracting bears.

Thank you for your attention to the loss of 14 bears in Tofino and Ucluelet in 2021.

Sign off with your name and address (and other contact information if you wish).